That thing called ‘karma’ and the harmless way to experience it

Enough of that thing called tadhana and every movie-related hugot line about it. It’s time to put the spotlight on something that is widely known and remembered especially during times of misfortune – karma.

Kakarmahin din ‘yan” and “karmahin ka sana” sound like ill wishes for people who have brought a bad fate unto others, but here’s how it really works: Karma, a Sanskrit term for “action/ doing”, refers to “an act driven by intention which leads to future consequences” in Buddhist tradition. It adheres to 12 laws, which you can learn without needing to travel outside the Metro.

As put in by artist Alexander Lopez, whose works aim to explain the ubiquity of karma through an exhibit called Reflection x Refraction, “Goodness begets goodness, and evil begets evil—we are served what we deserve.”

Lopez will be explaining the cycle of karma by opening his Mark Justiniani-inspired black and white glass installations to the public from August 24 – 27, 2016 at the Design Center of the Philippines in Pasay City. Mirrors are the primary medium of the artworks to exhibit the continuous cycle of karma in our lives until we pass away.

"Karma Mirror" (Photo courtesy of Reed)

“Karma Mirror”/ Taizong’s Hell Scrolls (Photo courtesy of Reed)

Here are the 12 laws you will be acquainted with when you face karma:

1. The Great Law

This is the most prevalent and well-known concept of karma. Also known as the Law of Cause and Effect, it simply says that whatever we put out in Universe is what comes back to us; there is always a consequence for every thought and action, immediate or not.

2. The Law of Creation

This law says that we are one with the Universe; that we are the makers of our own destiny. We must participate and exert energy and effort to acquire what we desire. Surround yourself with what you want to have present in your life.

3. The Law of Humility

This law emphasizes the importance of acceptance. Change will not happen without acceptance.

4. The Law of Growth

Simply put, it is we who must change, not those around us. It is we who must adapt; that is the ground rule of survival.

5. The Law of Responsibility

We mirror what surrounds us and what surrounds us mirrors us.

6. The Law of Connection

Everything is interconnected. The past, the present, and the future. Nothing is of greater significance than the other as they are all needed to accomplish a task.

7. The Law of Focus

You can not think of two things at the same time. We must direct full attention to achieve what we desire.

8. The Law of Giving and Hospitality

Here is where we put what we claim that we have learned, into actual practice.

9. The Law of Here and Now

This law states that we must not dwell too much in the past for this robs us of the present chance to advance ourselves.

10. The Law of Change

History repeats itself until we learn the lessons that we need to change our path.

11. The Law of Patience and Reward

All rewards require initial toil.

12. The Law of Significance and Inspiration

You get back from something whatever you have put into it—what you give is what you receive.

With the karmic powers at work, you won’t know what’s coming to you next unless you’ve been behaving really good your entire life. See karma face to face this August and discover what you’re future is bound to.

Design Center of the Philippines location (Photo courtesy of Google Maps)

Design Center of the Philippines location (Photo courtesy of Google Maps)

Reflection x Refraction opens at 5 p.m. on August 24 at the Design Center of the Philippines and will be open to the public from 1 p.m. to 7 p.m. from August 25 to 27. For more information, feel free to leave a comment below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *